Papanui Campus closes!

917 days; 131 weeks; 2.5 years.  However you look at it, it’s a long time to be temporary.  Today the Papanui Campus of the University of Otago Christchurch, a.k.a the Versatile workshop in my front yard, closed.  The sole permanent occupant (moi) became the last of the academics to return to the “main building” of the University of Otago Christchurch after we were unceremoniously evicted on 22 February 2011 (about time someone came up with a better name than “Main Building”). I’ve written elsewhere of that day when I commemorated two years since the earthquake and of the value of the Papanui campus when it turned  800 days. I’ll miss having the family close (perhaps not the dog), impromptu games of basketball (only 5 minutes boss…honest), and being on hand during that time when we went through all that shaking.  I shan’t miss the cramped space, the expense, or the loss of a workshop (maybe my son will be able to have his train set up again!). Today marks a new era for me as I return to an office in the centre of the Christchurch campus … I hope to discover some colleagues here that exist in the flesh and not only as words or images in cyberspace. In the process I hope to continue those incremental discoveries which will lead to better health for many.  My department has just endorsed a new plan for that… but that is the topic of a future post.

Got something to say? Don't be shy

