What is your number?

Last night I had the honour to speak following the AGM of the Canterbury Medical Research Foundation (CMRF).  The CMRF are a fantastic organisation I’ve talked about before.  They are also one of three sponsors of my current research fellowship.  What I talked about was volunteers and clinical trials.  Two days ago the world celebrated Clinical Trials Day in honour of James Lind who in 1747 took some men aboard a ship and started to feed them citrus fruit to see if the Spanish (who had less scurvy than the British) were on to something.  I don’t know if he used volunteers or not, but I do know that since then millions of people have volunteered to be part of clinical trials.  I salute those volunteers.  I work with people who present to the Emergency Department with chest pain or are seriously ill in the ICU.  These people are vulnerable, often scared, and are asking “Am I having a heart attack?”  Yet, despite this, when approached and asked to participate in a trial they very rarely say no.  This shows to me an incredible generosity of spirit & a heart-warming willingness to do something for someone else, even when that someone else is a mythical patient some time in the future.  I salute those volunteers.  They are my heroes.

I didn’t record the talk last night, but have tried to reproduce it this morning and present it to you now. Click HERE to access from Researchgate. It is not the same as with an audience as some of it was interactive.  However, I hope you enjoy it.  It is about 20 minutes long (100Mb) and deliberately targeted at a lay audience.

logos w uni

Got something to say? Don't be shy

